Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Brixham RFC


Brixham RFC Dinner and Dance 2017

1 year ago By Emily Irvine

Photographs will follow ..

With over 110 Players, officials and supporters back at the Berry Head Hotel, Brixham celebrated another great season that saw 5 trophies added to the Trophy cabinet this year.

The haul stated with the Reg. Brewer Cup (played between Brixham) at Easter after a 4 year break and reborn as an under 21’s completion, then the club was presented with the David Smith memorial cup on behalf of the referees for being the most hospitable club in the league. The colts had the privileged of playing at Sandy Park in the Devon Colt Plate final and along with the “Fisherman’s” sevens tournament where they won the Shield final, and culminating with the first team winning the Devon Senior Cup against Oakehampton, for the second time in three years.

Following an excellent meal, Coaches Graham Dawe and Martin Worthington gave a review of the year praising the way that the team had come together and developed during the season, with specific mention to the younger players that have progressed and contributed to the clubs success. They also talked about the opportunity for the forthcoming season for each and every player.

The President, Ray Gardner presented each player of the Colts and First’s winning teams with a framed photo from each final as a memento.

Russ Morris received a special award to recognise him achieving 100 first team appearances, and framed personally embossed 1st team shirts where presented to Sam Thomas and Tom Goodman to acknowledge them reaching 200 appearances, great achievements in this modern era.

Players at all levels where recognised for contributions made to Brixham’s successful season, Calum Smith was named Colt of the year for a second year in a row and along with Tom Windeatt, Walter Ellis and Joe Combes picked up the Colts awards. From the crusaders (second team) Tom Jones won the players player and the player of the season was named as Tom Caunter , who along with Rob Allison and Mark Langdon received crusader ties for appearances. From a first team point of view Martin Worthington picked up the first of his awards as he was named the Alikado player of the year, Jordan Watson being named as young player of the year and Kyle Cane the most improved.

The player’s player and the coaches’ player of the year was won by Dominic Conner, rounding of a great year as well as representing Cornwall in the Tamar cup. Other player awards where won by, Russ Morris – Most Appearances, Joe Lovell and Tom Goodman sharing – Most Tries and Ben Lovell picked up most points. The Danny Irvine shield, this year was awarded to three colts that all appeared in the cup final – Callum Smith, Joel Ashworth and Jesse Lowe. This award is for the Brixham player that is most likely to make regular first appearances. Club awards were presented to Harry Welch – the Brewer Mug, Emily Irvine - the Widecombe cup, Crusader management – Sportsman’s Shield, First team management – The Tony Smith Bowl, Martin Worthington won the Bob Maddock shield as awarded by the chairman and Sarah Maclean won the Clubman of the year for services to sponsorship.

The final and most senior awards were selected by the president. The past Presidents Cup, that had been missing in action for the last 20 years had been found and brought back up to its original “gleam” was presented to Matt Dodd for leading the same team from under 7’s to success as under 16’s in last year’s fisherman’s cup competition by winning the Shield and this year winning 2 trophies as colts. The top award the president’s cup was won by Steve Shipway the club treasurer, who despite significant ill health this year has carried on with his heavy workload, in keeping the clubs finance on track.

The evening ended with dancing until one in the morning with a good time had by all.

Chris Forster.

Club Chairman

Full list of Awards;

Appearances ties;
Crusaders team - Tom Caunter, Rob Alison, and Mark Langdon.
First Team - Kyle Cane, Jordan Watson, Dominic Connor, Ed Barnes & Malcom Osanado.
Award for 100 - Russ Morris – Framed Shirt for 200 Tom Goodman & Sam Thomas.

Colt of the year - Callum Smith

Players Player – Tom Windeatt

Most Improved - Walter Ellis

Clubman – Joe Combes

Most Team Points – First Team
Alikados- Martin Worthington
The Reg. Brewer Mug – Harry Welch
Widecombe Cup – Emily Irvine
Most Improved – Kyle Cane
Young Player – Jordan Watson
Most Appearances – Russ Morris
Most Tries – Joe Lovell & Tom Goodman
Most points – Ben Lovell
Crusaders Player’s Player – Tom Jones
Crusaders Player of the year – Tom Caunter
First team Player’s Player – Dominic Conner
First team Player of the year – Dominic Conner
Sportsman’s Shield – Crusader Management team
The Tony Smith Bowl – First team management team
The Danny Irvine Shield – Callum Smith, Joel Ashworth & Jesse Lowe
Bob Maddock Shield/ Chairman’s Award – Martin Worthington
Clubman of the year – Sarah Maclean
Past Presidents Cup – Matt Dodd
Presidents Cup – Steve Shipway

Chris Forster.

Updated 20:21 - 24 May 2018 by David Peck


Loading comments

Sat 11 Aug
1st XV Ebbw Vale
Pre-season 15:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors